Correction to Misinformation on Executive Order Regarding Immigration

On January 27, President Trump signed an Executive Order temporarily suspending entry into the United States of foreign nationals from seven countries –Somalia, Yemen, Sudan, Iraq, Iran, Syria, and Libya – as we review current security vetting procedures.  Kenyan citizens are not affected by this Executive Order.

This Order does not change visa reciprocity or validity for Kenyan travelers to the United States in any way.  The U.S. Embassy in Nairobi continues to issue five-year, multiple entry visas for Kenyans travelling for tourism, business, and study, and we continue to process immigrant visas (green cards) for Kenyans.  There is no quota for the number of Kenyans permitted visas or entry to the United States.  Furthermore, this Order does not affect the permitted duration of stay for Kenyan visitors, which is determined at the port of entry and is usually a maximum of six months for tourists. Purported news reports and stories on social media claiming such restrictions are completely false.

We continue to welcome legitimate travel to the United States by Kenyans and will announce any other changes affecting travelers to the United States on our website (see page and on our appointment contractor’s website (see pages and