An official website of the United States government

June 21, 2021

Health and Travel Alert for U.S. Citizens: Government of Kenya Announces New Restrictions (June 18, 2021)


Health and Travel Alert for U.S. Citizens 

June 18, 2021  

Government of Kenya Announces New Restrictions 

Location: Kenya

Event:   On June 17, the Government of Kenya announced further restrictions in response to the worsening of the COVID-19 pandemic. Restrictions are focused on 13 counties declared “hotspot zone” – specifically Busia, Vihiga, Kisii, Nyamira, Kakamega, Trans Nzoia, Bungoma, Kericho, Bomet, Siaya, Kisumu, Homa Bay and Migori.

These restrictions in the 13 counties include the following:

·       Public gatherings in the 13 counties are suspended until further notice;

·       The curfew in the 13 counties is restricted from 7pm to 4 am. Other counties will maintain the existing curfew of 10 pm to 4 am;

·       Except for  essential and emergency  services, movement between the hotspot Zone and the rest of the country is strongly discouraged;

·       Non-food and livestock markets suspended for 30 days.

·       Employers advised to allow employees to work from home.

·       All physical and worship gatherings are suspended for 30 days

·       Hospitals must restrict visitors to one individuals per patient;

·       All funerals must be held within 72 hours after the confirmation of death, and no more than 50 people may attend a funeral;

·       Weddings may have no more than 30 people attending;


·       U.S. Embassy Nairobi, Kenya

United Nations Avenue, Gigiri

+254 (0) 20 363 6451

+254 (0) 20 363 6000 (after hours)



·       State Department – Consular Affairs

+1-888-407-4747 for calls from the United States or Canada

+1-202-501-4444 for calls from overseas (Kenya)

·       Kenya Country Information

·       Enroll in Smart Traveler Enrollment Program (STEP) to receive alerts

·       Follow us on Facebook and Twitter: @USEmbassyKenya and @CDCKenya