Joint Statement by Heads of Mission in Kenya

Joint Statement by Heads of Mission in Kenya

September 1, 2017

The Supreme Court’s decision today on the 2017 presidential election is an important moment for Kenya.  The Court’s independent review has demonstrated Kenya’s resilient democracy and commitment to the rule of law.  The Kenyan people showed patience and confidence as the legal case ran its course.

Kenya’s electoral institutions now must begin preparing for a new presidential poll later this year and we urge everyone to work to make it free, fair, credible, and peaceful.  We have trust in the ability of Kenya and its citizens to do so.  All electoral processes can be improved, and we will continue to support Kenya’s institutions in this important work.  The transparent legal process and the parties’ respect for the Court’s decision reflect the strength of Kenya’s democracy.

As friends, we want to deepen our partnership with Kenya as it moves forward in building this great country.  At this historic time, we stand with all Kenyans as they support and reaffirm their democracy, which is an example for Africa and the world.


Robert F. Godec

Ambassador of the United States


Bruno Pozzi

Chargé d’ Affaires a.i., European Union


Ralf Heckner

Ambassador of Switzerland


Sara Hradecky

High Commissioner for Canada


Frans Makken

Ambassador of the Netherlands


John Feakes

High Commissioner for Australia


Dr Harald Gunther

Ambassador of Austria


Julia Pataki

Ambassador of Romania


Javier García de Viedma Bernaldo de Quirós Ambassador of Spain


Hilde Van Inthoult,

Chargé d’Affaires a.i, Belgium


Ramses Malaty,

Chargé d’Affaires a.i, Finland


Sergiusz Wolski

Chargé d’Affaires a.i, Poland


Nic Hailey

High Commissioner for the United Kingdom


Jutta Frasch

Ambassador of Germany


Mette Knudsen

Ambassador of Denmark


Victor Conrad Rønneberg

Ambassador of Norway


Antoine Sivan

Ambassador of France


Mauro Massoni

Ambassador of Italy


Constantinos Moatsos

Ambassador of Greece


Frantisek Dlhopolcvek

Ambassador of Slovakia


Luisa Fragoso,

Chargé d’Affaires a.i, Portugal


David Pavlita,

Chargé d’Affaires a.i, Czech Republic


Gavan Mc Cann,

Chargé d’Affaires a.i, Ireland


Fredrik Folkunger

Chargé d’Affaires a.i, Sweden